Targa Tasmania 2017 In late April of this year, car drivers and motoring enthusiasts will be heading down to Australia’s southernmost state for the Tasmania Targa.

Targa Tasmania 2017 this six-day tarmac rally traverses some of the island’s most challenging roads and attracts the world’s best touring, sports and GT cars. It will be a fight to the finish line as they compete for the title of the best in their category. Want to attend this popular event? Keep reading for all the details!

Targa Tasmania has been going since 1992 and is about to enter its 26th event. The concept takes its origins from the Targa Florio, an open road endurance car race that was held in the early 1900s in the mountains near Palermo, Sicily. It was shut down in 1977 due to safety concerns, but the Targa Tasmania has kept the memory alive of exotic fast cars competing under tough conditions.

People come to see the more glamorous cars in the rally showcasing their stuff on Tasmania’s scenic routes and mountain passes, namely the latest in grand touring and sports vehicles such as Lotus, Ferrari, Lamborghini and Porsche. Though of course, there is always room for more familiar named cars such as Ford, Holden, Toyota and Mitsubishi. Up to 300 cars are invited by special invitation to attend the rally, with a section for restored classic vehicles as well.

The course for the Targa Tasmania covers over 2,000 kilometres and has over 40 competitive stages. Many roads on the island will be closed in order to hold the event, so suffice to say, April 24th to April 29th, 2017 is not a good week to be doing a self-drive road tour of Tasmania.

There are a number of different competitive and non-competitive categories in the Targa Tasmania, and each person who completes the course for their category gets a medallion. If you manage to finish each stage before the pre-set time, you’ll also win a coveted Targa Plate.

Here is an outline of a few of the different categories:

Targa Tour – Experience the Journey

A non-competitive team event for any vehicles from 1 January 1900 consisting of a driver and navigator and which follows the same course as competition vehicles. This drive is simply to enjoy the mountainous roads and share the driving experience with a teammate, and finishers get awarded medallions. Find out more about the Targa Tour.

TSD Trophy – Battle of Time, Speed and Distance

This competitive category is based on the style of rally racing called TSD or Regularity, where you achieve a set average speed for each stage while keeping to a 130 km speed limit. It’s about more than just going as fast as you can; there’s a mathematical element involved. TSD Trophies are awarded to 1st, 2nd & 3rd place getters. Find out more about the TSD Trophy.

GT Sports Trophy – The Spirit of Targa

A limited speed category, the GT Sports Trophy is for both classic vehicles (from 1900 to 1985) and modern vehicles (1986 to current). The regulations are strict about making changes to your vehicle to enter, and a fitted half safety cage is required. The highest placing Classic Vehicle and 1st, 2nd and 3rd placed Modern Vehicles, will be awarded a Targa Salver. Find out more about the GT Sports Trophy.

Vintage, Classic, Early Modern & GT – The Ultimate Tarmac Rally

This category has no maximum speed and is purely for those with a competitive streak. It has strict safety requirements of a full roll cage. It is open to Vintage (1900-1946), Classic (1947- 1985), Classic GT (1947 – 1985), Early Modern (1986 – 2007), GT2 (2008 – current) and GT4 (2008 – current). You will need a CAMS National Rally Licence to compete.

Find out more about Targa Tasmania.

Heading down to the Targa? Need to get your car there, but don’t want to drive it? Have it transported for the race, call the team at Door to Door Car Carrying on 1800 366 723 or enquire online now.